Book Number One

I have chosen my first book. I wish I could say something ominous and cool sounding like, “The first book chose me,” but I can’t. I have the good sense to realize I’m a slow reader and if I want to finish a decent book before the week is over, I have to get started today. When I say I’m a slow reader, I mean it. I read so slowly that the Slowsky turtles from the Comcast commercials would be bored by my progress.

Anyway, my first book is Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky. Why I chose this book is quite simple. It was sitting on my book shelf. All 500 pages of it. Argh. Reading about 50 pages an hour, that means I have 10 hours of reading ahead of me. However, don’t fret, I already came up with a way for me to read more quickly. I hate to admit it, but it’s a slight loophole to the third rule.

After picking up the book from my apartment with Melinda, I jumped in the car and began to drive the two of us to her place for dinner. I hate to admit it, but I asked Melinda to read the book out loud to me. Despite being a great idea, it only lasted for about a paragraph thanks to Melinda not putting up with my ridiculous ideas. She had the good sense to realize that you only read out loud to kids 10 years and younger. Maybe if I hope for long enough NPR will start to have a series where they read Crime and Punishment out loud during the hours I’m driving to and from work. A man can wish, can’t he?

Okay, enough typing, I need to start reading. It’s going to be a long year.

One Response to Book Number One

  1. jfsimard79 says:

    FYI, if you want to listen to classics on audio (mp3) for free, visit http://www.librivox.org

    direct link: http://librivox.org/newcatalog/

    do a search for Crime and Punishment as an example

    I went through most of Pride and Prejudice on mp3.

Leave a Reply

