Ask The Dust

There comes a time in every man’s life when he needs to choose a second book. Actually, that’s not true, some people don’t read books. And, even worse than that, some people in oppressive countries don’t get to choose what books they read. Anyway, I’m off topic (I got off topic in two sentences, that’s a new record for me! <streamers begin to fall as the song Celebrate blasts over the radio>).

Before I tell you about my second book, let’s talk about my apartment smelling like gas. I’ll desperately avoid the fecal humor, and move straight into the facts. For the past few days my apartment has reeked like gas. There must be a leak somewhere. I’m convinced that this can’t be good for me, but maybe (just maybe) it will make me a better writer. Dostoevsky had gambling, Hemingway had alcohol, and I inhale gas. Everyone has their vice. Actually, on second thought, I’d rather not die so I’m staying the night at Melinda’s apartment. Plus, they have a big screen tv and a Wii, so it’s a nice place to stay – but a hard place to read.

My second book is Ask The Dust by John Fante. I’ve never heard of this book, or this author, but I’m reading it because of one man’s dedication. I tried to make that last sentence sound very dramatic, almost like a guy carried the book across the desert and died handing it to me, you’ll soon see that it’s not that dramatic at all. Actually, last week I told a few of my co-workers about my book a week mission, and one of them got very excited and told me to read Ask The Dust because it changed his life. Bold statement, I know. I usually reserve statements like that for gifts from God such as chocolate milk and mayonnaise. When he mentioned this book last week he also said that he’d bring it in for me to read. Honestly, I completely forgot about all of this until the first thing he said to me this morning was, “Here’s the book,” as he slowly handed it to me. I was quite impressed that he remembered today was new book day, so I’m going to read it.

While looking for this book on Amazon I noticed that it was turned into a bad movie in 2006 starring Colin Farrell and Salma Hayek. Maybe after I read it this week I can ruin everything by watching the movie. Or, maybe not.

I’m feeling a little over-confident this week since Ask The Dust is 165 pages with large font, rather than the 505 pages of Crime and Punishment. In fact, I didn’t read at all today (too busy sniffing gas). I really do look forward to starting tomorrow (if not tonight) and I’ll keep you all updated.

6 Responses to Ask The Dust

  1. jfsimard79 says:

    Nice, you’ve finally chosen your second book! I will be sure to look into maybe reading this book along with you. You now have followers. You are like Forrest Gump, running across America and we are the guys running along with you.

  2. jfsimard79 says:

    Another ‘easy’ book you might want to read is ‘Notes from the Underground’ Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

  3. Rohit says:

    Sniffing gas is not the way to literary success. If history has taught us anything, it is that you have to have either a drinking problem, a cocaine problem, or both. Get on it!

  4. Phil Sharp says:

    You should definitely read this book along with me!

  5. Barbara Mattivy says:

    oh no, the movie is awful, don’t watch it, it will ruin the book. but like I said in my post, 1933 Was a Bad Year is the best from Fante.
    I also suggest 1984 by Orwell and Brave New World by Huxley!
    Have fun! I’ll be following 🙂

  6. Evan says:

    I had a gas leak once. I called the gas company and told them I thought I smelled something, and they sent someone to check it out. A man came and put a solution of soapy water on places where there could be a leak (e.g., where a hose from my oven connected to a pipe in the wall). Sure enough, bubbles started forming as gas began leaking beneath the solution. I got that hosed replaced soon after. You should call PG&E, they can probably help you. I hope you’re doing well. Have a good trip.

Leave a Reply

