High Five to Ask The Dust

I know it’s only Wednesday, but I already finished Ask The Dust. This happened for three reasons. First, and most important, I’m awesome. Second, I really enjoyed the book. And third, I’ll be at an offsite for work from tomorrow to Saturday. Don’t get too excited, I promise the offsite won’t be fun. In fact, it is so not fun that I won’t even write a joke about it. _____________________ Notice that empty space where there should be a joke? See that space and think of me bored at a work function for the next few days. But, loyal readers (mom), don’t fret. While I’m off being miserable you can read my posts over and over again. The joys of the internet.

So, like I said, this book is very good. John Fante’s writing style is a little like mine. I don’t mean that it’s bad like mine, I mean that it’s very random like mine. Also, similar to me, he likes to write in short sentences. As an example of his writing style, check out the first paragraph of the novel:

“One night I was sitting on the bed in my hotel room on Bunker Hill, down in the very middle of Los Angeles. It was an important night in my life, because I had to make a decision about the hotel. Either I paid up or I got out: that was what the note said, the note the landlady had put under my door. A great problem, deserving acute attention. I solved it by turning out the lights and going to bed.”

Dang, that’s good stuff. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to post material from his book here. I hope Mr. Fante won’t be too mad at me. Just to be safe, if you read that paragraph then please send the publisher a quarter, or, if you’d prefer, then send me $10. Ask The Dust is funny, quirky, tells a great story, and (in the end) is quite sad. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to write, or for someone who is looking for something different to read. I’m impressed by Mr. Fante, and at some point in the next year I’m sure I’ll read another of his books.

Before I go, I’ll leave you with one more quote from the book. This is taken from a letter that the main character Bandini writes to an aspiring writer who is dying and looking for help writing: “Under ordinary circumstances I would call this a tragic situation. But having read the bile your manuscripts contain, let me speak for the world at large and say at once that your departure is everybody’s good fortune. You can’t write, Sammy. I suggest you concentrate on the business of putting your idiotic soul in order these last days before you leave a world that sighs with relief at your departure.”

I get your message loud and clear John Fante. And, with that, I won’t be posting for the next few days.

One Response to High Five to Ask The Dust

  1. lucidlunatic says:

    For some reason those quotes brought to mind one from Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch “Hello, we’re reverse burglars, breaking in to give you fifty solari.”

    In truth the quotes are more like Terry Pratchett, but I have so many Pratchett quotes bouncing around in my head at any given time that I couldn’t possibly just post them all here.

Leave a Reply

