Grammar Snob

Let’s start this thing off cheesily (even though I’m reading a book on grammar, I can still make up words like “cheesily”). I am thankful for the book Woe Is I. Not only am I thankful for this book feeding my inner grammar nerd, but I’m also thankful that it’s making me less of a grammar snob. There are so many grammar rules that it is unbelievable. Woe Is I is page after page of grammar rules, there is no way anyone can know all of these. The author, Patricia O’Conner, must be the only human on the planet with a complete grasp on the English language. A week ago I cringed whenever someone used then instead of than, or used it’s when they should have used its, or said anyways instead of anyway. However, now I realize that although I have these rules down, there are a million and one that I don’t know. Look at me, I’m growing and progressing. This book a week thing is making me a better person. Okay, that’s not true. I’m still going to judge people when they use it’s instead of its, now I’ll just judge myself as well.

Okay, here are some interesting things I’ve learned over the past few days.

  • Restauranteur is not a word. Am I the only person that didn’t know this? The word is actually restaurateur.
  • Irregardless is not a word. What the? The word is just regardless. Again, am I the only one that didn’t know this? When I googled “irregardless” the first result said, “an erroneous redundancy for regardless.” Crap, I must’ve been the only person that didn’t know. (Darn it, I just broke a rule. According to Woe Is I I’m not supposed to say “must’ve”.) (Darn it again. Quotes, period, and parenthesis. I don’t know what the crap goes where.)
  • A dash is different than a hyphen.

Anyway, if it wasn’t already obvious, there’s a lot I don’t know. However, at least I have this book to tell me how much I don’t know. Normally I just have my friends to tell me that.

6 Responses to Grammar Snob

  1. My father-in-law, who was a teacher for 40 years, loves to use “irregardless.” It elicits groans and looks of disapproval all around, and I’m about 98% certain he knows it’s wrong, but he just can’t help himself….and it makes me crazy!

  2. Phil Sharp says:

    Phew, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who goes crazy over things like this.

  3. Rohit says:

    Editing the law review, I’ve learned more about hyphens and dashes then ought to ever be known by anyone. En-dash, em-dash, when to use it, the history of, etc. I sort of hate my life.

  4. neyugn says:

    Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂 I will read it. 4 books a month? I read only about 2..Looking forward to reading some of your reviews.

  5. Sam says:

    You got an Interesting choice in books 🙂

  6. GrammarNazi says:

    It’s “different from”, not “different than”. 😉

Leave a Reply

